Stacks on deck: My March to-be-read pile

After a very YA heavy February (I was slumping and needed some easy reads to push my through my slump), I decided to focus on some adult fiction this month.

The star of March is definitely The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I have heard nothing but good things about this book and, even though it scares me, I’m going to dive into it headfirst. Not only have I heard great things from friends about it (bookstagram friends, work friends, etc.), but the amazing Lin-Manuel Miranda is executive producing a TV series for it. Once I heard that I knew I had to read the books before it aired. I’m hoping to get started on it this week when I take the train to Chicago and have plenty of uninterrupted reading time.

My current read for March is The Oracle Year by Charles Soule. I was graciously sent a copy by Harper Perennial in exchange for an honest review. According to Harper Perennial, The Oracle Year is for fans of Joe Hill, David Wong, and other humorous sci-fi/fantasy writers. This novel follows Will Dando, a twenty-something bassist living in New York City, after he wakes up with 108 predictions in his head. Will, with the help of a close friend, takes these predictions and monetizes them becoming the most famous, most loved, and most hated person in the world. I’m about halfway through and loving every minute of it. It’s funny, it’s intriguing, and most of all it’s incredibly well written.

If you’re interested in this book, look for it at your local bookstore on April 3!

PS. It looks like The Oracle Year is being made into a TV show too!

Another book I’m really looking forward to this month is The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah. Kristin Hannah’s books seem to be big hits with a lot of people and The Great Alone is not exception. I’ve been seeing multiple five-star reviews for this book all over bookstagram and Goodreads which makes me so excited to dive into this one. Another great thing about reading this book this month is that I will be reading it with some great people on bookstagram! While I’ve been impatient with buddy reads in the past, I think this book will be great to discuss with friends.

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller also made my March hopeful pile this year. I’m reading it in anticipation for Circe because I really want to get a feel for the author’s writing and her take on Greek mythology. It also helps that I am a huge fan of Greek mythology and any modern take on it really interests me.

Finally, the book I think I’m going to finish out the month with is The House of Impossible Beauties by Joseph Cassara. There are so many reasons I hope that I will love this book. The biggest one being that one of my best book friends gave this book a solid five-star review. I really respect her reviews and seeing her thoughts on this book made me want to read it even more. I cannot wait to get into this book, but I really want to end March on a strong note and I think this book will be that for me.

That’s my March to-be-read pile! It might change a bit because I picked from great books from Book of the Month this month and might dive into those. What are you planning to read this month?

My dog is cruel (not really).

The best and worst thing your pet can do to you is make you comfortable during the work week.

This morning was so hard because my dog was cuddled up next to me which made me warm and comfortable. This led to me not wanting to get up for work and being very sad when I finally had to get up. Don’t get me wrong, I love cuddling with my dog. It’s probably the time I’m at my happiest, but having to leave is painful. It was even more painful because my boyfriend gets to hang out with her all day since today was his day off.

Today has been a crazy day at work. From a presentation to technical issues with our automated email programs, I’ve been running mental laps all day. Not to mention I had to deal with airport traffic so my sister could visit my mom and her future school in Memphis. This crazy day is making me really look forward to when I can go home, put on some pajamas, and get back in bed with my dog to relax.

I’d really like to finish the book I’m reading right now (What the Hell Did I Just Read: A Novel of Cosmic Horror by David Wong) because it’s hilarious and I want to get to a good start on this month of reading. I’ve loved this series (John Dies at the End) quite a bit. David Wong writes some of the most bizarre books I’ve ever read, but they’re also some of the most interesting books I’ve read. He has a very smart sense of humor and does a great job of making his characters come to life. If you like funny, sci-fi books, Wong’s books are definitely for you!

I’m also currently reading The Upside of Falling Down by Rebekah Crane since I received an electronic ARC from the published Skyscape and Two Lions through NetGalley for review. It’s pretty good so far! This book follows the story of Clementine Haas, who finds herself with a case of complete case of amnesia from a plane crash that she is the sole survivor of. Clementine feels lost and in exchange for her forgotten life begins a new one with a complete stranger, Kieran O’Connell.

I’m really looking forward to finishing both of the books and letting you guys know all about how they are and how you should probably read them, but for now… I have to get back to my day at work and hopefully finish it without going crazy.